Sci-Fi Showdown Episode III: Class of 1999

As SOULUC activates the Failed at Inception’s new automated security, N’Eligahn has to deal with a relic from the 80s that attempts to re-do the Terminator idea but with even worse acting.

 

+++
[blip.tv/play/h%2BF8guvvVQA]

+++

First, about the movie itself:

This movie contains everything from the worst films of the 80s, rebellious characters, bad rock and annoyingly pointless violence. As I say in the review, there’s not a single likable character aside from Malcolm McDowell and I think that might have just been because he was the only one to show genuine emotion or caring about any of the events happening. Though why on Earth you’d trust someone like Dr. Forrest is beyond me.

Speaking of Dr. Evil, I don’t know if Stacy Keach was trying to play over the top on purpose, but if there’s one thing I really don’t like in a “serious”-type movie, it’s a goofy antagonist. I guess with the early deaths they were trying to get us to hate the roboteachers because they killed Cody’s friends, but since I hated everyone they killed, it mostly made the villains the heroes.

Worse yet, I learned it has a sequel. I may or may not do it, it depends on how much healing’s been done.

This was not a good movie in any way shape or form. Next episode’s movie, though…wow…it’s a painful one.

I learned two valuable lessons from this episode: learn to light the green screen properly and arrange my “Studio” so there’s more room for said screen.

This episode by far uses my green screen the most along with the most backgrounds. And in case you haven’t noticed, yes, I still suck at art.

While I managed more workable space with my green screen after Episode 1, this taught me that I need even more. So more than likely I’ll spend this long weekend re-arranging things to hopefully make shooting and post production much easier.

I’ll also never do a forward hallway run again unless I have an actual hallway to run through. That was by far the most annoying element to get right.

You might also notice SOULUC’s voice changed. This was twofold. First, I realized that, while I have a terrific George Takei impression, it didn’t transfer well through the mic. Especially after it was mechanized. The second is that I wanted my co-writer Ellif to be a bit more involved with production. I also think his Britishy-ness adds an air of dignity to SOULUC.

Well, that’s it for now. As always, if you have any questions, comments or movie suggestions, hit me up on Twitter @NEligahn.

Take care.

-N’Eligahn

Leave a Reply

