Welcome to Terror Obscura!

Hello ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to Terror Obscura, the show where we look at the best and worst horror has to offer!

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYKYwHoC%5D

I’m your host, the Fear Fan, and it’s great to be here on MiBR. Before we get down to all that wonderful review-ey goodness below, I thought it would be nice to take a moment to tell you guys a little about who I am, what I do, and maybe answer a few questions about the show. For those of you who don’t like reading, there’s an older but still mostly accurate intro video available above.

I suppose it’s best to start at the beginning, and what better way to begin than with where I got the idea for the show. It all started last year in October when I was watching the AVGN’s Halloween Monster Madness over at Cinemassacre.com. I kept thinking about how cool it would be if there was a show that talked about the best and worst horror movies out there year round, and from that idea, Terror Obscura was born.

Like I said, this is a show where we look at the best and worst horror has to offer, so you never really know what you’re going to be getting from episode to episode. One week, I might be posting about classics like Alien, Dracula, or The Thing. The next week, I might have a video about The Exorcist II, the remake of The Hitcher, or even (shudder) something from Uwe Boll.

On thing that’ll remain constant, no matter what I’m reviewing, is the utter verbal bitch-slapping that I’ll be dishing out. It doesn’t matter if it’s a classic, or a reeking mess in the kitty-litter box of cinema, I’ll be raking it over the coals no matter what. But don’t let that fool you, at the end of each show, I’ll be sure to tell you what I really think, and try to give you either my honest recommendation, or my sternest warning to stay away.

I’ll also be trying to provide a mix of well known films, cult classics, and some stuff that nobody’s ever heard of.  It doesn’t really matter how old the movie is. It could be something that came out in the silent era, or a film I found on the DVD rack yesterday.

Just so you know, there are a few exceptions to the ‘every movie is a target’ rule. For example, I probably won’t be reviewing any mockbusters, Sy-Fy originals, or anything from The Asylum. It’s not that those movies are too crappy for me to review, it’s just that there doesn’t seem to be much point in reviewing something everyone already knows sucks and why.

It’s no fun. In fact, it’s like shooting fish in a barrel.

Dead fish.

And you’re using a bazooka.

With a bayonet on it.

Anyway, there’s not much left to say, except that I’m shooting for a schedule of bi-weekly updates, and that I really hope you enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

